Return to Headlines

District Educators Receive MNSHAPE Awards

The Minnesota Society of Health and Physical Educators (MNSHAPE) presented two awards to District 742 educators at the MNSHAPE Awards Ceremony held on Nov. 8.

Joseph Thoreson received the 2018 Elementary School Physical Education Teacher of the Year award. The purpose of this award is to honor and recognize the outstanding services and contribution in elementary school education by a Minnesota elementary school teacher who is also a member of SHAPE America and goes above and beyond for his/her students. 

The 2018 George Hanson Developmental Adapted Physical Education award was presented to Luann Palmquist. The George Hanson Developmental Adapted Physical Education Award recognizes outstanding services and contributions given by an elementary, secondary, higher education, or other professional worker in developmental adapted physical education profession as exemplified by George Hanson.

Luann Palmquist and Joseph Thoreson