Return to Headlines

District 742 Board of Education Honors Partners in Education

April 20, 2018

St. Cloud Area School District 742 partner volunteers, organizations and benefactors were recognized April 19th at the Board of Education Partners In Education Awards held at the Great River Regional Library in St. Cloud. In its ninth year, the Board of Education PIE event recognized the contributions of individuals and organizations that support St. Cloud Area School District 742 schools and students. Partners in Education Awards honor individuals and organizations for their significant contributions to public education and student success in our community. Nominees this year include partner volunteers, organizations and benefactors.

This year, a new Distinguished Civic Award was also presented by the Board of Education and Superintendent Willie Jett to the City of St. Cloud, accepted by Mayor Dave Kleis in recognition of city and school partnership.

Partner Benefactors

David Bartholomew, Cazarin Interactive

Mark Bragelman, Liberty Bank

Don Farleo, Don Farleo Design

Suzanne Friedrich, Feeding Area Children Together (FACT)

Pete Matanich and Kim Matanich, Westwood Elementary School

Mike Podawiltz and Diana Murphy- Podawiltz

Mark and Ann Thelen


Partner Volunteers

Jamar Andrews, Madison Elementary School

Jen Collier and Jennifer Russell, Oak Hill Community School PTSA

Anab Guled, Apollo High School

Ellen Heneghan, Central Minnesota Adult Basic Education

Amy Hiltner, Kennedy Community School

Lois Johnson, Central Minnesota Adult Basic Education

Ann Kostreba, Oak Hill First Grade Team

Craig Martinson, Oak Hill Community School

Mimi Murphy and “Nellie” (service dog), Kennedy Community School

Elaine Notch, Madison Elementary School

Darlene Ohotto, Oak Hill Community School

Paula Oven, Oak Hill Community School

Kevin Quinn, Clearview, Elementary School

Annette Schoenberger, Central Minnesota Adult Basic Education

Molly Wehrens, Catholic Charities

Ron Wenzel, Madison Elementary School

Brenda Espelien, Chinese Immersion Program


Partner Organizations

Cultural Bridges, Dianne DeVargas, Coordinator

Feeding Area Children Together (FACT), Sara Greenberg-Hassan, Suzanne Friedrich, Marcus Paden, Helen Schommer

Community Grassroots Solutions, Abdiaziz Odiriye, Executive Director, and Ajana Olamide, Volunteer

Greater St. Cloud Public Safety Foundation, Officer Dan McClure, Community Outpost

Kennedy Parent Teacher Association, Heidi Everett and Nicole Foelkerts

Lutheran Social Services

Minnesota Math Corps, Tutors

St. Cloud Police Department, Shop with a Cop, Sergeant Jesse Douvier

St. Cloud Police Department, Youth Leadership Academy, Wm. Blair Anderson, Chief of Police

St. Cloud State University Math Assistance Program, Tutors

Theisen Design and Manufacturing, Peter Theisen

United Way, Daniel Larson and Jama Mohamed, United Way Neighborhood Resource Navigators at Discovery Community School

United Way, Kori Carter, United Way Neighborhood Resource Navigator at Lincoln Elementary School