Minnesota Youth Reading Awards

  • There are two awards that are voted on by Minnesota Students, Maud Hart Lovelace and Star of the North Picture Book Award.  Students have the opportunity to vote on the books if they have read or listened to at least 3 titles from the selection. 


    Maud Hart Lovelace Award  


    What is the Maud Hart Lovelace (MHL) Award?

    • Books that have been voted on by children in Minnesota

    • Must be work of fiction and not classified as a picture book

    • Was created to encourage recreational reading among school-aged children

    • There are two divisions.

      • Division I winners are selected by students in grades 3-5 and Division II winners are selected by students in grades 6-8.

        Star of the North


    What is the Star of the North Award?

    • Picture books intended for kindergarten through 2nd-grade. However, pre-k and older children are also welcome to participate.

    • Picture Books that are engaging and promote reading for pleasure among school-aged children.

    Click Here to visit the Minnesota Youth Reading Awards home page!

    Explore more with the Maud Hart Lovelace Award by clicking Here!

    Learn more about Star of the North Award by clicking Here!

    Click Here for the Maud Hart Lovelace 2021 Nominees

    Click Here for the Star of the North 2021 Nominees

    Click Here to watch book trailers for Division I nominees for MHL

    Click HERE to watch book trailers for Division II nominees for MHL.