District 742 Overview

  • A state and nationally recognized leader in innovative education, St. Cloud Area School District 742 is the 17th largest school district in Minnesota serving a population of over 100,000 residents within 250 square miles. It encompasses four counties and nine communities: St. Cloud, Clear Lake, Clearwater, Collegeville, Luxemburg, Pleasant Lake, St. Augusta, St. Joseph and Waite Park.

    In partnership with the surrounding community, District 742 engages, inspires, educates, prepares and empowers nearly 10,000 students to be successful in today's and tomorrow's society. With 926 teachers, 80 leadership team members, 803 support staff and 433 temp/substitutes, a total of 2,242 full and part-time employees strive daily to create a safe and caring climate and culture ideal for optimal learning.

    District 742 is an affirmative action, equal opportunity employer that is proud to employ top talented educators of whom 66 percent have advanced degrees. Through an extensive staff development program, District 742 provides employees with numerous opportunities for support, growth and renewal.

Quick Facts

  • Our Schools:
    8 Elementary Schools
    3 Middle Level Schools
    2 Senior High Schools
    10 Preschool locations
    4 Alternative School locations
    Early Childhood Center
    Community Education Center

    Our Staff:
    2242 Total Staff
    80 District Leadership
    926 Teachers
    803 Support Staff
    433 Temp/Substitute

    Our Students:
    10,093 Students